Petroleum Reserved Block Policy

In April 2018 the Northern Territory Government accepted and committed to implement 135 recommendations made by the Scientific Inquiry into Hydraulic Fracturing of Unconventional Reservoirs in the Northern Territory (the Inquiry).

Recommendation 14.4 of the Inquiry’s Final Report requires that the following areas be declared reserved blocks under s 9 of the Petroleum Act, each with an appropriate buffer zone: (a) towns and residential areas (b) national parks (c) conservation reserves (d) areas of high ecological value (e) areas of cultural significance (f) Indigenous Protected Areas and (g) areas of high tourism value.

Read Petroleum Reserved Block Policy PDF (1.7 MB)